Wildy logo
(020) 7242 5778

Wildy’s Book News

Book News cover photo

Vol 23 No 4 April/May 2018

Book of the Month

Cover of Williams, Mortimer and Sunnucks: Executors, Administrators and Probate

Williams, Mortimer and Sunnucks: Executors, Administrators and Probate

Edited by: Alexander Learmonth, Charlotte Ford, Julia Clark, John Ross Martyn
Price: £295.00

Offers for Newly Called Barristers & Students

Special Discounts for Newly Called & Students

Read More ...

Secondhand & Out of Print

Browse Secondhand Online


Lowe legislation jp
Sealy millman 2018 jp
Court protection no 2
Desmith out now
Uk supremem 1 8
Williams published

Introduction to the Study of The Law of the Constitution 8th ed

ISBN13: 9780865970021
ISBN: 0865970025
New Edition ISBN: 004323
Published: January 1915
Publisher: Liberty Fund, Inc
Country of Publication: USA
Format: Hardback
Price: £22.95
Paperback edition , ISBN13 9780865970038

Despatched in 4 to 6 days.

1982 Reprint of the 1915 Macmillan & Co edition

A year after the publication of Dicey's Law of the Constitution, William Gladstone was reading it aloud in the House of Commons, citing it as the authoritative volume. It remains, to this day, a starting point for the study of the English Constitution and comparative constitutional law.

The Law of the Constitution elucidates the guiding principles of the modern constitution of England: the legislative sovereignty of Parliament, the rule of law, and the binding force of unwritten conventions.

Dicey's goal was "to provide students with a manual which may impress these leading principles on their minds, and thus may enable them to study with benefit in Blackstone's Commentaries and other treatises of the like nature those legal topics which, taken together, make up the constitutional law of England."

This 8th edition, published in 1915, was the last edition written by Dicey. The 9th edition (1931) and 10th edition (1959) have an introduction and appendix by E.C.S. Wade

Constitutional and Administrative Law
Publishing History
1885: 1st ed
1886: 2nd ed
1889: 3rd ed
1893: 4th ed
1897: 5th ed
1902: 6th ed
1908: 7th ed
1915: 8th ed The last by Dicey
1920: Reprinted twice
1923, 1924,1926,1927, 1931: Reprinted
1982: Reprinted by The Liberty Fund