(020) 7242 5778

Wildy’s Book News

Book News cover photo

Vol 24 No 10 Oct/Nov 2019

Book of the Month

Cover of Lewis and Buchan: Clinical Negligence A Practical Guide

Lewis and Buchan: Clinical Negligence A Practical Guide

Price: £110.00

Offers for Newly Called Barristers & Students

Special Discounts for Newly Called & Students

Read More ...

Secondhand & Out of Print

Browse Secondhand Online


Pioneers of Space Law: A Publication of the International Institute of Space Law

Edited by: Stephan hobe

ISBN13: 9789004240278
Published: December 2013
Publisher: Brill Nijhoff
Country of Publication: The Netherlands
Format: Hardback
Price: £102.00

Despatched in 4 to 6 days.

International space law is less than 50 years old. Although the work on the codification of space law started in the late 1950s, the Outer Space Treaty was only adopted in January 1967. However, much earlier than that, even as early as 1932, the first ideas about legal rules for human activities in outer space were being considered. Very little is known about these early drafts and proposals, and the pioneering work of early scholars in the field remains relatively unknown. This volume seeks to redress this by analysing the biographies and contributions to international space law of eleven such early "pioneers”, whose ground-breaking and original work helped to develop the field in important ways. The collection starts in the 1930's with the Czech author Vladimir Mandl, and dwells at length on the 1950's, the early time of space flight. The section on each "pioneer" is written by different members of the International Institute of Space Law, making this a lively, fascinating and unique collection of essays, of interest to the whole community of space lawyers.

Air and Space Law
Foreword Tanja Masson-Zwaan and Stephan Hobe
Chapter I Alex Meyer (15.12.1879 – 21.08.1978) Stephan Hobe
Chapter II Eugène Pépin (27.06.1887 – 27.04.1988) Armel Kerrest
Chapter III John Cobb Cooper, Jr. (18.9.1887 – 22.7.1967) Ram S. Jakhu and Michelle Ancona
Chapter IV Evgeny Aleksandrovich Korovin (12.10.1892 – 3.11.1964) Gennady P. Zhukov, Vladlen S. Vereshchetin and Anatoly Y. Kapustin
Chapter V Vladimír Mandl (20.3.1899 – 8.1.1941) Vladimír Kopal and Mahulena Hofmann
Chapter VI Andrew G. Haley (4.11.1904 – 10.9.1966) Stephen E. Doyle
Chapter VII Daniel Goedhuis (31.1.1905 – 5.10.1995) Peter van Fenema and Tanja Masson-Zwaan
Chapter VIII Eilene M. Galloway (4.5.1906 – 2.5.2009) Marcia S. Smith and Jonathan F. Galloway
Chapter IX Rolando Quadri (22.12.1907 – 2.4.1976) Sergio Marchisio
Chapter X C. Wilfred Jenks (7.3.1909 – 9.10.1973) Steven Freeland
Chapter XI Manfred Lachs (21.4.1914 – 4.1.1993) Francis Lyall
About the International Institute of Space Law.